Your first court appearance date will be an arraignment. On this date, you will be given an opportunity to enter a plea of either “guilty” or “not guilty”. You will not have an opportunity to explain any defenses, extenuating circumstances, or other mitigating factors before entering a plea to the Judge.

If you have any questions about whether your case is court required or non-court required, speak with the court staff.

If you entered a plea of not guilty, you will be set for a trial court date. During your trial date, you will speak with the prosecutor. The prosecutor, at his sole discretion, may offer a plea agreement or recommend the defendant for a pre-trial diversion program. Any such agreement will be to be approved by the judge in order to become effective.

If the prosecutor does not offer an alternative agreement, or if the defendant does not accept an agreement offered by the prosecutor, the trial will proceed as scheduled.

Court Schedule

Jemison Municipal Court meets every 2nd and 4th Monday of each month (except where noted). Court starts at 1:00 p.m.

THE 2021 JEMISON MUNICIPAL COURT SCHEDULE:

Jemison Municipal Court meets every 2 nd and 4 th Monday of each month. Court starts at 1:00 p.m.

Monday, January 11 Trials
Monday, January 25 Arraignment

Monday, February 8 Trials
Monday, February 22 Arraignment

Monday, March 8 Trials
Monday, March 22 Arraignment

Monday, April 12 Trials
Monday, April 26 Arraignment

Judge Cleckler has set court time at 10:00 am on the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month.

The remaining calendar year and future court dates at Jemison.

Monday, May 10 Trials
Monday, May 24 Arraignment

Monday, June 14 Trials
Monday, June 28 Arraignment

Monday, July 12 Trials
Monday, July 26 Arraignment

Monday, August 9 Trials
Monday, August 23 Arraignment

Monday, September 13 Trials
Monday, September 27 Arraignment

Monday, October 11 Trials
Monday, October 25 Arraignment

Monday, November 8 Trials
Monday, December 13 Trials

About your court date

At some point, every defendant in our court is issued a court appearance date.  If you receive a traffic citation, the court appearance date will be at the bottom of the citation, in the space marked “Court Appearance Date”.  If you were arrested, you were given a court appearance date at the time you bonded out of jail.  Please note that the Court is obligated to follow the date on our copy of the records.  If you have any questions about your court date, please contact the Court as soon as possible, but no later than the day before your scheduled court date.

Judge Cleckler does not allow continuances the day of court. You would need to contact the court no later than the Friday, before your scheduled court date, to request a continuance on your case.

205-688-4492 option 4